top of page

Celebrating MMA Excellence: 2024 UFC Hall of Fame Inductees Honored at a Spectacular Ceremony in Las Vegas

UFC Hall of Fame 2024
Black Belt Plus

UFC International Fight Week is in full swing, setting the stage for a weekend culminating in UFC 303. Amidst the festivities, the spotlight also shifted to the 2024 UFC Hall of Fame ceremony, held on June 27, 2024, Thursday night at the T-Mobile Arena. This prestigious event payed tribute to legendary fighters, a historic bout, and an active competitor dedicated to community initiatives.

Set against the backdrop of the same venue hosting Alex Pereira vs. Jiri Prochazka 2, the Hall of Fame ceremony enshrined three former UFC champions into the Modern Era Wing, alongside a revered Pride champion in the Pioneer Class.

Highlighting the evening was the inclusion of the thrilling first encounter between Anderson Silva and Chael Sonnen at UFC 117, where Silva clinched victory with a dramatic submission in Round 5 of a fight he was trailing.

Additionally, lightweight standout Beneil Dariush was honored with the Forrest Griffin Community Award for his impactful community programs.

Among the esteemed inductees, Wanderlei Silva entered the Pioneer Wing, while UFC stalwarts Frankie Edgar, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, and Mauricio "Shogun" Rua joined the Modern Wing. Each of these fighters has left an indelible mark on the sport, embodying courage, skill, and sportsmanship throughout their illustrious careers.

Wanderlei Silva, Pioneer Wing
Wanderlei Silva UFC

Brazilian MMA icon Wanderlei Silva was inducted into the Pioneer Wing of the UFC Hall of Fame, honoring his trailblazing contributions to the sport. Known for his aggressive fighting style and memorable battles in Pride FC and the UFC, Silva's career spanned decades, earning him a reputation as one of MMA's most feared competitors.

Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Modern Wing
Joanna Jedrzejczyk UFC

Polish powerhouse Joanna Jedrzejczyk entered the Modern Wing of the Hall of Fame, recognized for her dominance in the UFC women's strawweight division. Holding the title for over 900 days, Jedrzejczyk's technical prowess and striking ability set a new standard for female fighters, inspiring a generation of athletes around the world.

Frankie Edgar, Modern Wing
Frankie Edgar UFC

Former UFC lightweight champion Frankie Edgar was honored in the Modern Wing for his resilience and versatility inside the Octagon. A perennial contender across multiple weight classes, Edgar's career featured thrilling battles against the sport's elite, cementing his legacy as one of MMA's most respected athletes.

Mauricio Rua, Modern Wing
Mauricio Rua UFC

Brazilian legend Mauricio "Shogun" Rua joined the Modern Wing, celebrated for his dynamic fighting style and storied career in Pride FC and the UFC. As a former UFC light heavyweight champion and recipient of numerous Fight of the Night honors, Rua's impact on MMA continues to resonate with fans worldwide.

Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen 1, UFC 117, Fight Wing

The epic showdown between Anderson Silva and Chael Sonnen at UFC 117 was immortalized in the Fight Wing of the Hall of Fame. This historic bout, marked by Silva's come-from-behind submission victory, remains one of the most memorable moments in UFC history, showcasing both athletes' grit and determination.

Beneil Dariush, Forrest Griffin Community Award Recipient
Beneil Dariush

Beneil Dariush was honored with the Forrest Griffin Community Award, recognizing his contributions outside the Octagon. Dariush's philanthropic efforts and commitment to charitable causes exemplify the UFC's values of giving back to communities and making a positive impact beyond the sport.

bottom of page